Happiness is a warm puppy.

Ok, first off I would like to apologise for the delay in making this blog post. I’ve been busy with college and study. Exams are two months away which means my emotional state lies somewhere between a mild fear of failure and blind panic. This usually happens to me the night before an exam, when the stress procures for me a sort of short-term memory loss.  In fact, it sometimes gets to such a state that I can no longer count numbers, spell words and remember basic facts like my own name. In retrospect, it’s sort of funny. I mean,  I’m supposed to be remembering things like how to read an ECG trace and memorising the course of the radial nerve, and yet I can’t even focus enough to add up how much I need to pass the module.  I think it must be some sort of defense mechanism. My brain usually shuts off twenty four hours before an exam. 

Image

Luckily enough, I have figured out a way to cope with this. I find the less stressed I am, the more I am likely to remember things. I know that everyone is different and yes, exams will always be stressful no matter what and so on. The answer (for me anyway) is to sit outside in the garden beside my dog. If it is raining or the dog is busy licking the plaster off the walls (Buddy likes to do this, he always looks like he has been snorting cocaine, dangerous habit I know, but he can’t be persuaded otherwise), I watch videos of cute puppies playing on youtube. Now, as my family and friends are aware, I am a “self-confessed dog lover”.  I don’t understand people that don’t like dogs and I feel interminably sorry for those unlucky beings that possess an allergy. I find happiness in the fact that no matter how much of an asshole the rest of the world thinks you are, your dog will always think that you are God’s gift to creation. Why not? You feed them, take them for walkies and scratch them behind the ears. That’s pretty much all a dog wants out of life. That in return for undying companionship.  Good auld Marilyn knew what she was talking about:

“Dogs never bite me, humans do”.

Image

Anyway, I have to make the point that dogs are simply one of my favourite things in life. Don’t get me wrong, I love other animals as well. Cats are great, horses are slick and most wingéd beasts are pretty fly.  Please try not to navigate away from the page after reading that. I couldn’t resist the allure of the mighty pun. To get to the point, I have composed a very special list below that I hope you will enjoy. Even if you aren’t a dog lover.

Things that are great ’bout canines, y’all:

 1. Puppy eyes.

Image

But I wuv you

2.  Dem ears. There are over twelve different types of muscles in a dog’s ears. Say what? 

Image

“Yes, I am anatomically superb”

3. If you are seventy and own sixteen dogs, it ultimately makes you quite cool. Turning out to be a crazy dog lady instead of a crazy cat lady is actually quite an exciting prospect.

Image

She’s got s-wag. 

4. Dogs went to Space before humans. 

Image

Commander Dawg at your service.

5. There is a dog called the Peruvian Inca Orchid and he looks like this:

Image

6. There are dogs that look exactly like their owners. Sometimes, things are just right in the world.
they-both-have-white-hair

 

 

We all love Buzzfeed. Click for more doggie/human twins. 🙂

7.
lead_large

8. The ancient Mbaya Indians of the Gran Chaco in South America believed that humans originally lived underground until dogs dug them up.
i-want-to-like-people

9. More history. Dogs have lived with humans for over 14,000 years. Cats have lived with people for only 7,000 years. Cold felines. *eugh*

smart-dog-2c0ues8

10. Cesar Millan is in a job because of dogs.

cesar-millan

“The dog is a reflection of your energy.”

11. Dogs will always admit when they are wrong.

12. Dogs are just fab. And they know it.
crazy-dog-pics-part2-52

From this day forward, in all stressful moments, may you go forth with the determination of a dog:

column_021-dog-memes

Dedicated to Aisling McGowan. A dog enthusiast.

One thought on “Happiness is a warm puppy.

Let me know what you think!

